Guests Of Honor


Keynote – Andrew Gross

Andrew GrossAndrew Gross has written fourteen NY Times bestselling thrillers, five with James Patterson and nine on his own. His books are sold in over 25 countries. He loves to tell gripping tales of family or greed or desperation, involving ordinary people who must tackle such things. His recent novel, The One Man, is a WWII thriller. The Saboteur, his second WWII novel, was just released in Sept. 2017. He credits his wife, Lynn, with his success in changing genres. At SleuthFest, he’ll be participating in multiple sessions, including one that highlights how to change genres successfully.

Forensic Guest of Honor – Katherine Ramsland, Ph.D.

Katherine RamslandKatherine Ramsland, Ph.D. teaches forensic psychology at DeSales University in PA.  She has published over 1,000 articles, stories, blogs, and reviews, and 60 books, including Confessions of a Serial Killer: The Untold Story of Dennis Rader, The Forensic Science of CSI, The Criminal Mind: A Writer’s Guide to Forensic Psychology, and many more.

Her background in forensic studies positioned her to assist former FBI profiler John Douglas on The Cases That Haunt Us and to co-write a book with former FBI profiler Gregg McCrary, The Unknown Darkness.  She also co-wrote The Real Life of a Forensic Scientist with Henry C. Lee. Her credits in the field are so extensive, we can’t come close to listing them all here.  We encourage you to go to her website for more.

Ramsland will be giving workshops at SleuthFest and deliver a presentation at the Friday lunch, ‘Talking to Serial Killers’.

Editor-in-Chief – Neil S. Nyren

Neil S. NyrenNeil S. Nyren is the Executive VP, Associate Publisher and Editor in Chief of G.P. Putnam’s Sons, a division of Penguin Random House. He has been at Putnam for over 32 years, and before that, at E.P. Dutton, Little Brown, Random House, Arbor House, and Atheneum. He is honored to be the recipient of the 2017 Ellery Queen Award from Mystery Writers of America. Among his current authors of crime and suspense are Clive Cussler, Ken Follett, C.J. Box, John Sandford, Robert Crais, Jack Higgins, W.E.B. Griffin, Frederick Forsyth, Randy Wayne White, Alex Berenson, Ace Atkins, Alex Grecian, Carol O’Connell, Owen Laukkanen, Michael Sears, and Todd Moss. He edits nonfiction, too, but you didn’t come here for that, did you?

Guest Authors

P.J. Parrish is the New York Times bestselling authKristy Monteeor of eleven Louis Kincaid and Joe Frye thrillers, set in Florida and Michigan, as well as two stand alone novels.  The author is actually two sisters, Kristy Montee (of Tallahassee, FL and Traverse City, MI) and Kelly Nichols (of Traverse City, MI).  Their books have appeared on both the New York Times and USA Today best seller lists.  The series has garnered twelve major crime-fiction award nominations, including the Edgar Award.  They have won three Shamus Awards, one Anthony, and one International Thriller competition.

Kristy Montee is the half of the team that will join us at SleuthFest as a featured Guest Author.  She’ll be teaching workshops and participating in other sessions.  Kristy was recently awarded MWA’s Charles Todd Service Award.  She has served as the President of the Florida Chapter of Mystery Writers of America, as well as Chairman of SleuthFest.

Hallie EphronHallie Ephron is the New York Times bestselling author of suspense novels reviewers call ‘deliciously creepy’ page turners. Her new novel, You’ll Never Know, Dear, tells the story of a little girl’s disappearance and the porcelain doll that may hold the key to her fate. The Pittsburgh Post-Gazette reviewer called it ‘captivating’. Library Journal: “A satisfyingly creepy read for fans of Southern gothic.” In Night Night, Sleep Tight, Hallie took her experiences growing up in Beverly Hills in a family of writers and wove them into a suspense novel with echoes of a scandalous true crime. Her Never Tell a Lie was adapted for film for the Lifetime Movie Network. She is a four-time finalist for the Mary Higgins Clark Award and author of Writing & Selling Your Mystery Novel, an Anthony and Edgar Award finalist. For more than ten years, Hallie wrote a crime fiction book review column for the Boston Globe. Hallie lives near Boston with her husband.

Hank Phillippi RyanHank Phillippi Ryan is the on-air investigative reporter for Boston’s WHDH-TV, winning 34 EMMYs and dozens more journalism honors. Nationally bestselling author of 10 mysteries, Ryan’s also an award-winner in her second profession—with five Agathas, two Anthonys, two Macavitys, the Daphne, and Mary Higgins Clark Award. Critics call her “a superb storyteller.” Her novels are in Library Journal’s Best of 2014, 2015 and 2016. Her SAY NO MORE is also a Mary Higgins Clark, Daphne and Agatha Award nominee. Hank’s a founder of MWA University and 2013 president of National Sisters in Crime. Watch for TRUST ME in August 2018.


James R. BennJames. R. Benn is the author of the Billy Boyle World War II mysteries.  The debut title, Billy Boyle, was named a top five mystery of 2006 by Book Sense and was a Dilys Award nominee. A Blind Goddess was long-listed for the Dublin Literary Award, and The Rest is Silence was a best novel nominee for the Barry Award. The twelfth and most current novel (2017) is The Devouring. He and his wife, Deborah Mandel, divide their time between Connecticut and the Gulf Coast of Florida. Benn lives by two writing quotes. One is from Oscar Wilde: “The art of writing is the art of applying the seat of one’s pants to a chair.” The other is from novelist Rachel Basch: “The story has to move down, as well as forward.” Both are simple, profound, and complex.

Return to Main SleuthFest Page






Site Designed by Laideebug Digital
Laideebug Digital