Agents and Editors

2018 Agents and Editors

 

 

AGENTS

Evan MarshallEvan Marshall, President of The Evan Marshall Agency, is an award-winning literary agent specializing in fiction. Evan has held senior editorial positions at Houghton Mifflin, Ariel Books, New American Library, Everest House, and Dodd, Mead, where he acquired national and international bestsellers. An expert on fiction writing, he has served as a contest judge for Wattpad and has been a NaNoWriMo Mighty Catalyst for Literary Righteousness. He authored the classic writing guide, The Marshall Plan® for Novel Writing in 1998. It is now available as How To Write a Novel-The Marshall Plan® Software, co-created with Martha Jewett. The Marshall Plan® takes the frustration out of writing and delivers successful results fast. He is a graduate of Boston College. Evan is the author of ten traditionally published mystery novels in the Hidden Manhattan series and Jane Stuart series, called ‘Miss Marple lite’ by Kirkus Reviews. Evan is interested multiple genres, from mystery/thriller to romance and literary fiction.

 

Mitchell WatersMitchell Waters, Literary Agent at Curtis Brown, Ltd., started working at Curtis Brown in 1995. Before joining the agency, Mitchell was a teaching fellow at Fordham University, specializing in English literature. He represents a wide and diverse array of literary and commercial fiction and nonfiction, including mystery, history, biography, memoir, young adult, cookbooks, self-help, and popular culture.

Mitchell has represented mysteries and thrillers by, among others, Eleanor Kuhns, Alan Gordon, and Joy Castro, as well as the estates of Anthony Boucher, Patrick Quentin, and Frederick Pohl. He particularly likes historicals, both gritty and cozy, as well as historical and contemporary thrillers with strong female protagonists. He’s always been partial to mysteries which sometimes feature couples and some romantic tension, as in certain works or series by Sayers, March, Allingham, and Christie. He served for ten years on the Board of Directors of the Association of Author’s Representatives. 

Some recent or representative titles: The Gentleman by Forrest Leo,  AMP’D by Ken Pisani, The Authentics by Abdi Nazemian, Some Enchanted Evenings by David Kaufman, The Mindspan Diet by Preston Estep III,  Museum of Broken Relationships by Olinka Vistica and Drazen Grubisic, The Cosmopolitans by Sarah Schulman, Under a Dark Summer Sky by Vanessa Lafaye, and a new novel by Kim van Alkemade, New York Times bestselling author of Orphan #8.

 

Jenny BentJenny Bent founded The Bent Agency in 2009.  The agency now has nine agents, offices in New York City and London, and a strong focus on international rights.  Her authors include NYT bestselling authors AG Howard, Lynsay Sands, Lori Nelson Spielman, Yangsze Choo, Governor John Kasich, Lynn Weingarten, Stephanie Garber, Goldy Moldavsky, and Edgar Award winner Lori Roy.  She represents most areas of crime/suspense, including YA, but is not looking for cozy mysteries.

 
 

 

Annie Bomke from the Annie Bomke Literary Agency is a literary agent with over a decade of experience in the publishing industry. She represents a wide range of projects—from hard-nosed business books to otherworldly historical novels. Prior to founding her own agency, Annie spent eight years at Margret McBride Literary Agency, where she worked with internationally bestselling authors such as Ken Blanchard, Spencer Johnson, Bob Burg and John Assaraf. Annie has loved the publishing industry since her internship at Zoetrope: All-Story, a literary magazine founded by Francis Ford Coppola. Authors have called her the pH test for good writing, and a bedrock for literary quality control.

She represents fiction and nonfiction, including a broad spectrum of mysteries—from hilarious cozies to gritty police procedurals in the vein of Tana French and Jo Nesbo and everything in between, though her favorite genre is psychological thrillers. She is also looking for commercial and literary fiction, upmarket fiction, historical fiction, women’s fiction, suspense, literary/psychological genre fiction (horror/sci-fi/paranormal), magical realism, noir, gothic, and YA fiction (in all of the above sub-genres). She loves books that merge genres, like literary historical mysteries with elements of gothic horror. She’s a sucker for locked room mysteries, books set in the Victorian era, books about evil children, and unreliable narrators. In any genre she is looking for character-driven stories. She is especially interested in books that feature diverse characters.

 

EDITORS

Neil S. NyrenNeil S. Nyren is Executive VP, Associate Publisher and Editor in Chief of G.P. Putnam’s Sons, a division of Penguin Random House. He has been at Putnam for over 32 years, and before that, at E.P. Dutton, Little Brown, Random House, Arbor House, and Atheneum. He is honored to be the recipient of the Ellery Queen Award from Mystery Writers of America. Among his current authors of crime and suspense are Clive Cussler, Ken Follett, C.J. Box, John Sandford, Robert Crais, Jack Higgins, W.E.B. Griffin, Frederick Forsyth, Randy Wayne White, Alex Berenson, Ace Atkins, Alex Grecian, Carol O’Connell, Owen Laukkanen, Michael Sears, and Todd Moss. He also edits nonfiction.

 

Eric CampbellEric Campbell is the founder and publisher of Down & Out Books, based in Lutz, Florida. After spending twenty-five years in healthcare finance, Eric started Down & Out Books as an avenue to help develop and build ‘lost’ authors. Since then, the company has published over 200 books and is home to several imprints including All Due Respect, Shotgun Honey, and ABC Documentation.  The company specializes in the crime, thriller, and suspense genres. Down & Out Books does accept unagented submissions.

 

 

 

Marcia Markland, Executive Editor, St. Martin’s Press
I got into book publishing because I wanted to go to school for the rest of my life, but I couldn’t afford all that tuition. Publishing was the next best alternative for me. Instead of my having to pay to read books all day, someone would have to pay me.

My favorite part about working at St. Martin’s Press is that the higher-ups quite wisely understand that we will all work harder on books that we really love, and they guide our acquisitions accordingly. I enjoy sophisticated crime fiction from all over the world, and I have had the good fortune to work with such accomplished masters as Arnaldur Indridason (Jar City), Ann Cleeves (both the Vera and Shetland novels), Yrsa Sigurdardottir (Someone to Watch Over Me), and John Ajvide Lindqvist (Let The Right One In). Ragnar Jonasson (Snowblind) is a writer I’m tremendously excited about, and I was also thrilled to be working with Elizabeth Hand, whose extraordinary new Icelandic novel is entitled Hard Light. Martin Fletcher, long-time bureau chief for NBC News in Tel Aviv, turns out to be a born story-teller, and he is currently working on a new novel that we are tremendously excited about. And we just sold The Blondes, a literary thriller by Emily Schultz, to the movies.

I adore all animals, so when A Street Cat Named Bob landed on my desk, I was delighted. I am also excited about The Lambs, by Carole George. I love natural history and conservation of all kinds, and I was honored to have worked on the memoirs of Captain Peter Willcox (Greenpeace Captain), often called the face of Greenpeace, who began his career sailing with Pete Seeger, had adventures all over the globe, and recently found himself imprisoned in a Russian jail. Another book with global impact is Let There Be Water, by Seth Siegel, which shows the way forward to a world facing severe water shortages.

I am interested in social issues (Tomlinson Hill, which deals with racism); feminist issues (Everyday Sexism); and anti-Semitism (Lincoln and the Jews).  I enjoy history and biography. I worry way too much about everything, so if you have a manuscript that inspires extreme anxiety, I’m the editor for you. And then, because of the anxiety, I devour cutting-edge psychology and neurobiology manuscripts as well. Anything a bit off the beaten path will pique my interest, guaranteed. And don’t forget to send along those guaranteed sure-fire bestsellers as well.

 

Faith RossFaith Black Ross began her publishing career at Cambridge University Press, after receiving her BA from Williams College, her MA from Rutgers University and studying at Oxford University. From Cambridge she moved to Avalon Books where she became head of the editorial department overseeing a mix of mysteries, romances, and historical fiction. Faith then joined the editorial department of the Berkley Publishing Group/Penguin Random House publishing mysteries and historical fiction and working with bestselling and award winning authors including Agatha Award winners and Edgar nominees. Faith then worked as an acquiring editor for Severn House in the UK before joining Crooked Lane in 2016.

 

 
Strategy Sessions and Pitch Sessions

Strategy Sessions

You may request a strategy session with an editor. This is new the last two years, and we’ve found it to be very popular. You do not need to have a finished manuscript for this, but remember, it is not a pitch session. You’ll have ten minutes to discuss any issue you’re having with your WIP, even if it’s still in the outline phase. Our attendees have found it extremely helpful in resolving plot, pacing, ending, and character issues, etc. You’ll find the option when you go through the registration process. Just check the box, and when SleuthFest gets closer, our A & E Appointments Chair will contact you with details.

Want to Pitch?

You MUST have a finished manuscript to pitch. Check the box for a ten-minute pitch session when you come to it in the registration process, and our A & E Appointments Chair will contact you with details as SleuthFest draws nearer.

Additional Info

Appointments are $10.00 each.

You may sign up for one pitch and/or one strategy session via the registration process. If you would like an additional appointment, go to the A & E sessions area on Friday after lunch and request another. If time slots are available, they’ll be assigned on a first come, first served basis. Additional appointments are $10.00.  If the schedule is full, you will be placed on a waiting list. Be sure to have your cell number listed in your registration.

Do your homework to find the best fit. Be ready when the A & E Chair contacts you. Go to the Agents’ and Editors’ web bios and web pages so you’ll know who your 1st, 2nd, & 3rd choices are. We don’t guarantee anyone their first choice, but we do try. Please give us your top 3 preferences.

If you’re already registered, you can go back into your registration – sign in, click ‘Make Changes’, and add an appointment.

You will find your appointment time and who it is with when you arrive at SleuthFest.  It will be with all the other info inside your hanging badge/wallet.

Please arrive and check in at the appointments area at least ten minutes before your appointment time. 

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save


Site Designed by Laideebug Digital
Laideebug Digital